Whether your car’s been totaled or you were in a fender-bender, you should report a vehicle accident to law enforcement officials in Illinois. Although Illinois law only requires some crashes be reported, it benefits victims to report accidents of any kind.
In Illinois, victims must report car accidents that result in death, injury, or property damage. You must report to two agencies: the police and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). While victims technically have ten days to report an accident in Illinois, the sooner they report, the better. If you didn’t report your accident and have since noticed injuries, reach out to a lawyer. A skilled attorney can help you report a crash after the fact and recover compensation from a negligent driver.
Our experienced attorneys are dedicated to helping car accident victims throughout Illinois hold negligent drivers accountable. For a free case evaluation with the Illinois personal injury lawyers at Rhatigan Law Offices, call today at (312) 578-8502.
When Do You Have to Report a Vehicle Accident in Illinois?
In Illinois, persons involved in a car accident must report their collision to the police and the Department of Motor Vehicles. Generally, accidents that result in death, injury, or property damage must be reported. The best and easiest way for car accident victims to report a crash is to call the police and alert officers to the scene.
Car accidents can be extremely dangerous. In the most severe instances, a negligent driver’s actions can cause a victim’s death. Car accidents that result in death must be reported to Illinois police officers, no matter what. Involved parties must inform the police following such an incident in Illinois.
If you were injured in a car accident in Illinois, you’re required by law to inform the police. It also benefits you to do so, as a police report can help your compensation claim. Your injuries don’t have to be severe to warrant police involvement. If you feel pain after a collision in Illinois, call the police to report your accident right away.
Car accidents in Illinois resulting in property damage must be reported. When all parties are insured, only accidents resulting in $1,500 worth of property damage must be reported to the police and the DMV. If either party is uninsured, the reporting threshold drops to $500 worth of property damage. Estimating property damage after an accident can be difficult, so it’s best practice to report your collision if your vehicle is damaged in any way.
How Soon After a Vehicle Accident in Illinois Do You Have to Report It?
Acting quickly and reporting an accident after a crash in Illinois is crucial. Depending on a collision’s severity, Illinois victims may have more or less time to report it to the necessary agencies. If you’re having trouble reporting your crash soon enough, ask your Jolie car accident lawyer to help you.
Generally, for accidents involving death, injury, or substantial property damage, victims in Illinois have ten days to report to the police and the DMV. That said when an accident is that serious, it is wise to alert law enforcement officials right away.
After an accident of any kind, Illinois victims should call 911. Quickly reporting your accident is important so that police officers can document your injuries and their likely cause.
So, while you may have ten days to report your incident to the necessary parties, don’t wait that long. Your Naperville car accident lawyer can help you file a report with the police if you notice property damage or injuries days after a collision.
Don’t wait for anyone else to call the police or report your accident. As a car accident victim, it is important that you call the police and report a crash. Remember, an involved party may be less inclined to report an accident, especially if they are to blame. So, take a deep breath in the moments after an accident and make reporting your crash a priority.
What Happens if You Don’t Report a Vehicle Accident in Illinois?
Car accidents can be extremely overwhelming, especially for injured victims. Because of the chaos and confusion that often accompanies collisions, it’s understandable for victims to forget to alert the police. Although reporting an accident is important, it doesn’t always happen. That’s why victims need to learn about the consequences of failing to report a collision in Illinois.
In a perfect world, the police would arrive at the scene of every accident. Instead of the burden of notifying law enforcement officials is on victims. Officers need to be notified, and if that call isn’t made right away, negligent drivers may flee or convince a frightened victim there is no need to report an accident.
If you didn’t report your Illinois car accident immediately, don’t worry. Remember, you have ten days to report a collision to the police and the DMV. That said, if you don’t report a crash to the necessary agencies within ten days, you can face the consequences. Victims can face a license suspension and may have more difficulty recovering damages against a negligent driver.
Having documentation of a car accident is crucial, especially if you plan to file a compensation claim against a negligent driver. If you don’t report your accident, that documentation won’t exist. While it can be difficult to recover compensation without a police report, victims can hire an experienced Rockford car accident lawyer to represent their interests. Your attorney can uncover compelling evidence that illustrates a negligent driver’s fault, even if you did not report your accident in Illinois.
Call Our Attorneys After a Vehicle Accident in Illinois
If you were recently injured in a car accident in Illinois, our attorneys can help. For a free case evaluation with the Chicago car accident lawyers at Rhatigan Law Offices, call today at (312) 578-8502.